Christmas

There are so many things that are a part of Christmas today that those from years and years past would consider strange, odd and even offensive.

In our ever moving society, we put up flashing lights and ornaments, trample others to get the best reviewed or coolest presents, and celebrate to the point of obesity and exhaustion. (I realize I am writing from a very American perspective, but what can I say? I did grow up in America and am more or les American at my core.)

I am not saying everyone does this. I am not even saying that this method of celebration is wrong. I am simply posing the following question: is a time of hope and joy and love supposed to be so tiring and bustled and perhaps even shallow?

I think the people who lived in times that moved slower had it right. Christmas really IS about family and joy and giving. I think the problem is not that the world has changed but that we have changed. We have become so caught up in doing and achieving and pursuing we have forgotten how to live.

We have forgotten that life is a celebration of beauty and pain, good and bad, explainable and supernatural–we have forgotten there is more to living then being alive.

Christmas provides us with an opportunity to remember these things. Christmas allows us to come back to one of the few things we can all relate to: belief.

Christmas is a time to let your 5-year-old self out. Jump up and down when you see the presents under the tree. Gaze in awe at the beautiful trees and light displays.

I hope that no matter how many presents you buy or how many Christmas parties you attend that you make room for magic and wonder. Just because you are an adult does not mean you have to stop being amazed at things which are magical and special.

One comment

  1. mysearchformagic · December 16, 2012

    What a lovely post – I couldn’t agree more!

Leave a Reply

