Tragedy and Hope

I wrote my previous post before I read about the horrible, tragic shooting in Connecticut. I was extremely tempted to not post it. Everything I said seemed obsolete in the shadow cast by the grief of this horrible event.

Obviously, I chose to post it. I am not really sure why. I think part of me realized that even though something terrible has occurred, it does not make anything I wrote any less true.

I said in my previous post that life is a celebration of the beautiful and painful, the good and the bad. I still believe that.

The events that took place in Newtown are horrific. If there is anything I hate more than the needless death of innocent people it is definitely the death of children. Those beautiful souls had an entire future of good, bad, beautiful, painful, and amazing in front of them and because one the choice of one man, this future is lost.

I do not know if I am the only one who thinks this way, but I grieve for the shooter just as much as I grieve for the victims. Some of you will call me horrible or maybe even demented but let me explain.

For anyone to do something as horrible as this man, he or she must be in a place of mental disturbance or be mentally unhealthy. Based on what the news has said so far, this man clearly had a painful and dark past.

I am not in anyway saying this man did not know what he was doing. Even if he was diagnosed with a serious mental health condition, he made a choice on some level–conscious or not–to take innocent lives.

What I am saying is that this man deserves sympathy because of his pain. We should not condone his actions in anyway. But this man was a victim of something; that something is unknown to us but he was a victim.

I want everyone who reads this to know that I am praying for everyone affected by this event. I hope that peace is found and comfort is abundant. I pray that you know your tears are being caught by the wings of angels and that others are sharing in your hurt.

And most of all, I hope you do not lose hope.

Leave a Reply

