22

I read this article the other day and it made me very sad (http://music-mix.ew.com/2013/09/02/miley-cyrus-and-the-rise-of-yolo-pop/).

The overall point of the article was that the reason why crazy Miley Cyrus performances and inappropriate songs like Robin Thicke’s “Blurred Lines” are so popular is because there is a market for them in this generation.

As a person who has never been a party girl, gone wild, or done anything else that I consider to be relatively stupid, this fact makes me very sad.

I am starting to feel like the only 22 year-old who is trying to be responsible and actually get into this whole adult thing.  Sure, I spend a lot of time thinking about how being an adult is not all I thought it was going to be when I was five.  But overall, I think I am doing a pretty good job of navigating the murky waters of young adulthood.

I am not trying to put down every twenty-something person who is out there having a good time and living for the now–or as this generation is supposed to say: YOLO-you only live once.  There is nothing wrong with having a good time and living life to the fullest.

But if we let that motto define our lives, what are we going to think of ourselves ten years down the line?  Yes, we had a good time and made some great memories.  But I am willing to bet that nine times out of ten, we will think, “Wow was I being stupid. What the hell was I thinking?”

For their sake, I hope people my age who are out partying all night find something better to do with their time and their lives.  I hope they find a true purpose to why they are here and what they should do with these amazing years.

So here’s to all my twenty-something friends who are being responsible, working hard, and trying to be grown up.  Remember, we all have a long road ahead of us but we have come so far already.  

And please do not ever forget to be a kid every once in awhile.  Run in the rain, get ridiculously excited about the new Hunger Games movie when it comes out.  Never loose that spark and life will still be full of those moments where you really were thinking, “You only live once.”

2 comments

  1. Beraccah · September 4, 2013

    I don’t think partying makes anyone irresponsible or unrealistic. I think people should be allowed to do what they want and be themselves without being judged. Its true that our generation is making a lot of mistakes but I believe that making mistakes builds character. Its OK if you don’t like to party and you don’t find that lifestyle appealing but that doesn’t make you perfect and just because or generation finds that lifestyle appealing doesn’t make it cliche. I guess that’s just my opinion.

  2. foxatck21 · September 4, 2013

    My point isn’t that partying is bad. Partying is great (even though I don’t like it because I’m an introvert). But I think there’s definitely a trend in our generation to do things to the extreme.

    I agree with you about mistakes building character…I don’t think any of us would be who we are without our mistakes.

Leave a Reply

