My Life

There are some pretty terrible things happening in the world right now.

Horrible destruction of life and property in the Philippines; failing diplomatic endeavors with Iran concerning its nuclear arms program; nations in debt; people being trafficked around the world–the list goes on and on.

I find myself thinking about things I consider “problems” in my life.  My Internet router has to be reset; I my eyeliner is constantly running in the humidity; I cannot find a place to stream my favorite television shows.

Then, I find myself thinking, “What the hell is wrong with you?  Your life is wonderful and cushy.  Stop complaining.”

But something a good friend told me many times is that things are what they are.

I am in no way trying to diminish the suffering of people throughout the world.  Death, destruction, manipulation, and injustice are absolutely horrific, and we should all do our best to help those in need and fight against the atrocities that exist in our world.

However, I think it is equally inappropriate to diminish your own struggles just because someone else is going through something that you define as harder or more trying than what you face on any given day.  I may not be living on the streets or be the victim of a terrible natural calamity, but the tough things I face are real and raw and difficult to me.

So if you find yourself belittling your circumstances, please stop.  You are where you are and it is your life to be lived.  Walk with pride, courage, and strength; keep your head up especially when life is trying to pull you down; love what you love, do what you do, and do not ever be ashamed of the life you are living.

Leave a Reply

