Christmas

It is very difficult –maybe even impossible–to write and commentate on the holiday season without cliches.  I am not going to try to avoid them but I hope I can speak in a way that is meaningful and thought provoking.

The festive season is marked by a plethora of decorations, sales, masses of people buying gifts all of which is meant to make the last month (or two) of the year feel special.

We greet each other cheerily.  Happy Holidays.  Seasons Greetings.  Merry Christmas.  These are just a few of the salutations we read and hear and see.

I wonder if there is real good will and kind emotion behind these words.  More often than not, I think we are just following socially acceptable customs and norms.

If that is the case, than the holidays are not so different from our day-to-day lives.  We do the same thing with different words: “How are you?”; “Have a nice day!”; “Thank you”.

Christmas is about focusing on good cheer and kind actions.  It is about being gracious and generous to others particularly to those who are in need.

But I think what is more important is to realize that these attitudes should permeate our lives at all times.  Be kind and generous through small acts.  Spread joy and good cheer by treating people with respect.  Find moments to stop and be thankful for everything you have been blessed with.

This Christmas, I hope I treasure the moments I have with friends and family.  I hope I make another person smile with a small act of kindness.  And I hope I carry all this forward with me in the days after Christmas and well into the new year. 

Leave a Reply

