22 November 2014

I feel like there has been one long recurring theme in my post college/young adult life: balance.

I just got back from seeing The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1. I have been anticipating this film literally since Catching Fire ended. I’ve spent a year following the filming process and latest updates about the film.

And in the space of two hours, all of whatever that was is gone.

All that energy, anticipation, full on “fan girl crazy” seems meaningless.

I’m not saying I don’t like who I am. I actually love who I am. I am saying that maybe my likes and obsessions are just that–things in my life that I focus on too much.

I’m not sure I know what the balance is between “OH MY GOSH IT’S THE HUNGER GAMES!!!!” or “The Avenger’s: Age of Ultron trailer was amazing!” and “Yeah, I like that stuff”. I don’t think I’ve had some big revelation about how I should view my life differently.

I think I just wanted to write something that makes me believe I understand the importance of balance in life.

Life is not lived in the highs and lows–the epicly amazing nights we never forget or the dark corners of the mistakes we would rather forget. Life is about waking up in the morning, looking at your day, and saying, “I’m going to take this one step at a time.”

There are beautiful epiphanies, rationale defying revelations, and unexplainable mysteries in life. But the moments that mean the most to me are talks in the evening with my mom, hour long Skype conversations with my best friend, and new pictures of my nephew.

It is the small moments, the little victories, which remind me that this life is worth living.

Leave a Reply

