Friends

I don’t like writing about love but not for the reasons you might expect.

Since the dawn of humanity, we have been trying to understand romantic love. We write sonnet, books, movies, plays, notes, and music. We use countless other outlets to try and understand why we love the way we do.

But we often forget there is more than one type of love.

There’s the love you have for your dog or cat. There’s the love you have for things you are passionate about. There’s compassionate love. There’s empathic love. There’s love for family members.

And there’s the love you have for your friends.

I think this type of love is overlooked and misunderstood. Our society is so saturated and trained to think about sex and romance that when we see two people who are extremely close, we assume there must be some kind of romantic or sexual history between the two parties. This is often true but not always true.

I’m not trying to diminish romantic love. I’m just saying I believe love–all kinds of love–is what makes the world a better place no matter how cliche that sounds.

The love of my friends has gotten me out of bed on my most depressed days. It has made me laugh and cry and sing and shout. It has created amazing memories of being giddy with laughter and hours of deep conversations late at night.

So here’s to the late night Dairy Queen runs, the school dances, the nights crying, the graduations, the good-byes, and the reunions. My dearest friends, thank you so much for your love. I love you all from the bottom of my heart.

Leave a Reply

