Why I’ll Keep Watching Marvel Movies

A lot of people say the Marvel movie franchise is repetitive and familiar. They’re not wrong. But I’m still going to keep watching Marvel films.

Even though the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) has been pretty impressive in its scope and scale, many people would argue they’re not very good films. The storytelling isn’t original. The villains are predictable. The action (while impressive in its visual scale) follows the same model.

All of these things are true.

I suppose as a writer, I should be more critical of the MCU. Generally speaking, I analyze films the way I analyze literature. I dissect characters. I look for symbols. I seek out plots that are original and have twists you don’t see coming.

However, I generally suspend my critical mind when I walk into a Marvel film. Part of it is because I’m such a huge geek. Part of it is because I love comic books.

And I don’t think there’s a problem with that. I think there’s a place for stories that are written and played out just for the sake of entertainment.

I know there are those out there who think I’m committing some kind of cinematic crime.

But I don’t really care.

I’ll keep watching Marvel films. I’ll keep cheering at the screen when there are cool fight moves and hero shots.

And I’ll certainly keep sitting through all the credits to watch the last few seconds of screen time.

Leave a Reply

