winding

heart and blood and soul
move through the forest of lonely memory,
of scattered vision and dream re-chanced.

mind so weary of journey’s long
unremembered trance which tricks the heart
to false hope and empty vow–
cruel like oasis, swift like current.

feet laid bare on sand divine
as echoes of missing future cease
to bear the drum of space to time
before the mountain sinks in seas.

hope i keep like kindled flame
in secret cornered keel and
wait to sing a song with notes
i know not what or when.

in love i trust though savage
slave has dosed my heart with cynic
black and white naive to waste away
the stoic way from now to then.

tomorrow’s sun i cast in doubt beneath
the rising tide of danger victorious–
strong to make my heart beat slow
and weak to make my blood run dry.

wait i must no matter what delay
or bridge or cave may come to steer
my mind and soul and heart
to despair like canyon bright or moon

shine dark and narrow escape
the cold which begs me to forget the
true promise of the destined–the love of creature
strong and great, divine like setting sun.

so tomorrow i shall wake with bated
breath, eye expectant now to see the
simple truth: my heart absorbs the blessing painted and procured with detail great

that i may know the truth of facts
which leads me to my love–we both
the ways to journey on though hard
will meet in dawn’s new lumen bright.

Leave a comment